American Assassin: Novel vs. Movie

How does the movie compare with the novel, and can one be better than the other?

Advertisements

Movie Review: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

After learning in advance that Han Solo died on Star Wars: The Force Awakens and that Kylo Ren was Hans’ son, I worked hard not to discover anything about Rogue One: A Star Wars Story until I saw it. Thankfully I did and it made the film the better for it. The verdict? I really [...]

Miniseries Review: The Night Manager

I generally find John Le Carre film and television adaptations to be hit and miss, but in The Night Manager the world might just have been presented with the best Le Carre adaptation yet. The six part miniseries is the story of former British soldier, Jonathan Pine (Tom Hiddleston), working as the night manager for [...]

Movie Review: SPECTRE

With the release of SPECTRE as a downloadable movies, I thought I’d revisit the latest James Bond film with a review. Daniel Craig returns for his fourth outing as the world’s most popular spy. Arguably, Craig is also the world’s most popular actor ever to portray Secret British Agent 007 — he’s certainly made the [...]

Movie Review: Spooks: The Greater Good

Being a long-time fan of the British television series Spooks, I was keen to see how it translated into the big screen format when the sequel movie, Spooks: The Greater Good, was released in May of this year. My problem was the movie never appeared in cinemas in Australia. I had to wait six months [...]

Book Review: I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes

I am Pilgrim is an interesting addition to the spy thriller genre, in that it surprises often and shifts perceptions in what readers might expect from this kind of novel. Yes, there is action, intrigue, mystery and a global, political savviness staple to the genre. But there are also numerous backstories and subplots that bring [...]

Movie review: Sicario

From the opening scene until the film’s harrowing conclusion, Sicario makes one wonder if we have walked into a horror flick rather than a spy thriller. One can’t help but feel an impending sense of doom, that an awful turn of events is about to transpire, in every scene of this gripping film. The deep, [...]

Book Review: Primal Origin and Primal: Unleashed, by Jack Silkstone

Primal: Origin and Primal: Unleashed are the first two novels from reasonably recent-to-the-scene thriller author, Jack Silkstone. Essentially these are special forces, action adventure tales in the vein of Chris Ryan or Andy McNab. Silkstone’s elite team bypasses the rigid directives issued by Western governments and their intelligence agencies hamstring their operatives on the ground [...]

Book Review: Dance with the Enemy, by Rob Sinclair

What makes a good thriller? I believe the answer is simple: it is a novel that as soon as you commence reading you can’t put down. You want to know what happens next, and when the book is complete, you want to read more. That is, in a nutshell, what Dance with the Enemy is, [...]